He’s Got the Whole World

“He’s got the whole world, in my hands.  He’s got the whole world, in my hands.  He’s got the whole world, in my hands.  He’s got the whole world in my hands.”  Sam was singing for us tonight while he and Joanna colored.  I was washing dishes smiling at his incorrect use of pronouns.  Then I hear Joanna say, “No, Sam.  It’s HE’S got the whole world in HIS hands.”

How often I forget this and find myself singing, or rather anxious and stressed out that He’s got the whole world and put it in my hands.  When really I need to remember that He does have the whole world and it is all in His hands.

We’ve been talking about adoption again with the kids and it’s been nice to talk in terms of having a baby that will be in our family forever.  You hear a lot about becoming a “forever family” for a kid who needs a family.  It’s been nice to be able to tell our kids that whoever we adopt will be a “forever sibling” to them.  I’ve had some sweet talks with the kids about things we liked and miss about B and M.  I’m usually choking back tears that later come out when I’m alone or someone who knows me dearly asks me a direct question about how we’re doing.

Psalm 107:17-22  “Some were fools through their sinful ways, and because of their iniquities suffered affliction; they loathed any kind of food, and they drew near to the gates of death.  Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.  He sent out his word and healed them, and delivered them from their destruction.  Let them thank the Lord for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of men!  And let them offer sacrifices of thanksgiving, and tell of his deeds in songs of joy!”

2 thoughts on “He’s Got the Whole World

  1. “From the lips of babes. . . ” So true what Sam was accidentally singing! So excited to meet my “forever niece and/or nephew” sometime soon.

  2. How often I have to remind myself of this during the early hours of the morning. I always come back to I Thess. 5:24 “The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.” We look forward to that new grandson or granddaughter that God gives us through your adoption and are praying already for his/her protection as we wait.

Leave a Reply

