A Family of Six

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve written.  I’ve been crocheting like crazy getting ready for fall craft sales as I work to save up enough money to finally fly to Kenya to visit my sisters, brother-in-law, and neices.  I’ve also been struggling a lot as I try to wait patiently for God’s perfect timing to provide us with the kids we so long for in our family.  And then suddenly, out of the blue, He’s provided!

This past Monday I got a call from our adoption worker saying they had two kids that needed a new home the next day.  A 2-year old girl and a 10-month old boy.  Were we interested.  After spending the rest of the day in confusion, tears, talking, and praying we met with our worker and decided to say, “Yes!”  We preceded to excitedly rearrange our kids’ bedrooms and get ready.  On Tuesday afternoon B-girl and Baby M arrived.  I was looking forward to slowly getting them adjusted to our house routines and us adjusted to them and then Wednesday night Joanna woke up and started throwing up.  Thursday afternoon Sam started throwing up.  So we spent several days surviving and Kirk’s mom was kind enough to come up to help us out (thanks Dad for making that sacrifice).  We got to go to church on Sunday which was an answer to prayer for me.  Then I went to bed Sunday night feeling sick and threw up in the morning.  Now Kirk is sick and I’m on the mend.  I’m tempted to ask God why He picked this timing in our life to all get sick but He has been so faithful to sustain us and has provided so much encouragement from our church family.

We are adjusting slowly to life with four kids 4 and younger.  In my exhaustion I feel fulfilled and the Spirit has been gracious to give me patience and wisdom.  The kids are getting along well enough, better than I’d expected.  I just can’t wait until we’re all well and can really find our routine.  Please Jesus let it come soon.

8 thoughts on “A Family of Six

  1. thinking about you guys alot. praying for you all. I wish I was closer and could help out!! I wanna meet these sweet kiddos!! And see Joanna and Sam and love on them 🙂 You’re an amazing woman and mama, Sarah! You can do it!

  2. I’ve been thinking a lot about you all too! I’m so glad that you’ve finally gotten to this point…I know it’s been a really long wait. Keep us posted so we can keep praying specifically. Hope you all feel better soon!

  3. So, so excited for you guys guys, and my new niece and nephew!! Will keep praying for sleep, adjustment, and good sleep. Love to all 6 of you!

  4. Praying for peace, joy, and rest. Looking forward to getting to know M and B! I bet Soren and M will be pals in no time!

    P.S. I may not see you tomorrow, because Soren has a really crazy rash and fever. The doc was not sure what he has, but it came several days after he was vaccinated. Best guess is that it’s “Roseola”.

  5. Pingback: God’s Timing is Right (even if it’s hard) | Life on Maple

Leave a Reply

