A Little Reminder

For those who don’t know it, I grew up in Kenya as a missionary kid.  When I was one year old my parents moved to Kenya and we lived in a rural setting.  My life today is very different and my children are growing up in a VERY different setting.  However, there are some similarities.

1. God loves variety.  I grew up in a white, American family with black Africans around me.  The school I attended in Nairobi, though mostly white was still very diverse.  My kids get to experience God’s blessing of diversity in our neighborhood and in our church.

2.  Bare feet!  I grew up running around barefoot and playing soccer barefoot.  Though I don’t let my kids play out front in barefeet (too much broken glass), they are always barefoot out back (still some broken glass but not as much).  When it rains they go through several sets of clothes from jumping in puddles and playing in mud.  I hate the laundry but love the experience they are getting.

3.  Wildlife!  Sure, we don’t see giraffe and zebra when we go out for a drive or on a trip through the country.  But we have cats and we’ve seen some possum and even a bunny and birds at our bird feeder.  This new little friend has made his home on our sunflower.  As a child there was a praying mantis who made his home in our kitchen.  This little guy reminds me of my home in Muruu (and here are some other pictures of our garden).

3 thoughts on “A Little Reminder

  1. Sarah,
    Your garden looks AWESOME and your thoughts on child-rearing are always so inspiring and refreshing. Thanks for helping me to remember to think about the experiences my kids are getting, and not always focusing on how things look from my perspective. Hope you all are well!!
    Love,
    amy

  2. Your garden looks great! Carolyn Bond has been with us and it was good to talk about Muruu days. It was a great place for you guys to run free! So glad your kids are growing up where they are.

  3. Pingback: A Little Reminder (via Life on Maple) « Worship In The City

Leave a Reply

