Biological Clock

Yes, my “biological clock” has been ticking away. I have to resist the urges to steal my friends’ babies. Kirk got me a couple of cats to snuggle and cuddle but somehow, as wonderful as they are, aren’t enough. Kirk and I have decided to adopt. We’re going through the state of Missouri which means we won’t have to pay the adoption fees (a huge sigh). Right now we’re going through the STARS foster classes, every Tuesday for 3 hours for 9 weeks. After that we’ll take 12 more hours of adoption classes. Then we just sit and wait to see who God brings into our family. We’re open to kids between the ages of 0 and 5 and hopefully even a sibling group of maybe 2. We’ve wanted to have four kids so why not provide a home where some siblings can stay together.

I’ve found that I’ve gone through many emotions similar to those I went through in having our biological kids. We decided several months ago to adopt but had to wait for the classes to start. It felt like we’d decided to get pregant but wanted to wait a little longer for the sake of timing. Now we’ve started classes and I find myself fearful that there won’t be kids out there that fit our desires (which we feel are from God). It’s like feeling fearful that I won’t be able to get pregnant. But it all leads me to pray and learn to trust in the Lord’s timing and wisdom in how and were He leads us. I can’t wait to know my next kids and start figuring out what life is going to look like. Kirk wants a baby. Joanna wants a twin sister. Sam is oblivious. I’m not really sure what I want, like a true middle child I just want everyone to get along. 🙂

Pray with us!!! We realize more and more how much prayer we need.

6 thoughts on “Biological Clock

  1. We are praying often for our new grandchildren, whoever they may be. It’s exciting to think God has them waiting for you (and us).

  2. Thanks for finding my blog and leaving a message.
    I’d love to chat about how you went about going through the state for adoption. We are homestudy ready for domestic adoption, but I think we would have to change the homestudy to go through the state foster system. I’ll have to check with our social worker. Have you done your homestudy?

    Many blessings to you and your family.

    • We have a friend in our church who works for OneHeart Family Ministries. Right now we’re in the process of taking the fostering classes (STARS) after which we’ll take the adoptive classes. We haven’t yet had our homestudy but should within the time we’re in these classes. I look forward to keeping up with you blog and your process.

  3. I too have been very convicted to be praying for my new neice(s)/nephew(s) – that they would feel God’s presence in whatever they may be going through now, and that God would give you guys wisdom as you help them work through it all.
    Love you guys, and so excited for the work God is and will do through you guys!

  4. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! FYI the Endless Cardi-Shawl project that you commented on has a crochet pattern available, in case you don’t get around to learning to knit. I enjoyed reading your blog, too. I will be checking in to see how your adoption process goes! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

