Mulligatawny Soup

Kaufman Park 009b.jpg
This photo was taken at Kaufman park. I want to do a photo tour of St. Louis playgrounds. Check out more of the photos on my Facebook account.
Heidi requested the following recipe and I thought I’d put in on my blog since it’s been forever since I’ve done that. I got this recipe from Heather Henning and we LOVE it. It makes a lot and freezes well.
Mulligatawny Soup
3 lb chicken thighs (Aldi sells a 3 lb bag of boneless skinless thighs)
3 T vegetable oil
1 medium onion, sliced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 inch ginger, grated
1 T curry (or more)
2 T water
4 C chicken stock
1/2 t salt
1/2 to 1 C heavy whipping cream
1. Cut chicken into bite size pieces (this takes FOREVER).
2. Heat oil in pot. Add onion and cook until golden brown.
3. Add garlic, ginger, and curry. Cook 30 seconds.
4. Add chicken and 2 T water. Cook until chicken looses raw color (3-5 min or more).
5. Add chicken stock and salt. Boil.
6. Simmer till chicken is cooked (20-30 min).
7. Add cream.
Serve over rice with toppings: bananas, apple, raisins, coconut, etc.

4 thoughts on “Mulligatawny Soup

  1. Oooh, Heather brought this to us once last fall. It is soooo good. Thanks for putting up the recipe!
    The Cow Parade came through Kansas City when Madeleine was 2 and Sophie a baby. I took pictures of them next to several of the sculptures around the city, then put them together in a scrapbook for Madeleine for Christmas. Those photos are such a hoot to look back on. That’s all to say, I guess, that your photo tour is a great idea… Joanna’s at a fun, expressive age, so I’m sure you’ll enjoy looking back on your tour, too, someday!

  2. Thanks Sala. For those of you who read this and haven’t tried it’s very flavorful and the banannas are a must!

  3. Um…the recipe sounds really good. I’ll be trying it soon, maybe when you are here! Will be praying for your trip today. Love, Mom

Comments are closed.