Defining Discipline: part1

What is discipline? My first thought is to say, spanking my kid. Plowman says that our negative connotations with discipline are why we have more of a tendency to want to avoid it. And thus, our kids become spoiled brats. However, Plowman says, “Biblical discipline involves love, the heart, and God’s Word.” We have to train our kids’ hearts, not just their actions.
So how do we do this? What does the Bible tell us to do? DISCIPLINE and INSTRUCT. Here are three verses Plowman gives:
Eph. 6:4 – “…bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.”
Pro. 29:15 – “The rod and reproof give wisdom…”
Pro. 31:26 – “She speaks with wisdom and faithful instruction is on her tongue.”
So discipline is really a two sided process, punishment for wrong-doing and teaching correct behavior/attitudes. It seems like it’s easier or more natural to just punish kids and expect them to be able to then figure out what they should do instead. I remember realizing that Joanna’s not going to know how to do anything correctly, that old sin nature, we have to teach her what’s right. And unfortunately, that’s takes a lot of repetition most of the time. Patience, patience, patience.

4 thoughts on “Defining Discipline: part1

  1. I could see myself falling into the trap of expecting my kid to change his or her actions before providing them with a concrete example of how to respond differently (or I should say appropriately). Looking forward to hearing more!

  2. Thanks for sharing what you’re learning from this book – I’m looking forward to hearing more. Love you, Rin

  3. So glad you are finding this book helpful. I’m thinking of ordering a bunch of copies to give to my young mother friends. I’m looking forward to more of your comments on it. Love, Mom

  4. Hi! I found your blog via St. Louis blogs… I’m a Christian mama of an almost 3 year old and I’ve read Plowman’s book as well. Thought I’d recommend another one I really liked, too: And Then I Had Kids, by Susan Alexander Yates. Both encouraged me in this often-challenging stage of life!

Comments are closed.