Motherhood




Mommy and Daughter

Originally uploaded by kirksarahjoanna.

I love to read! …but whenever anyone asks me about a book or if I’ve read such and such a book I can never remember. Why? The same reason I can never remember if I’ve seen a movie until someone describes it to me; the same reason I can never remember a song unless it’s hummed for me. But I want to be able to remember books, especially helpful books I might want to recommend. Thus this new feature on my blog…my book journal. I’ll tell you what I think of a book as I read it.

I started the book “Don’t Make Me Count to Three!” while I was visiting my parents a bit ago. It’s written by Ginger Plowman, a mother of two. The focus of her book is how to discipline your children in order to reach their heart rather than simply change their behavior.

The first chapter is basically just reminding us mom’s what high calling we have to be mothers. She says, “Being a mom is more than being cook, chauffeur, maid, counselor, doctor, referee, disciplinarian, etc. (just to name a few). It’s about molding character, building confidence, nurturing, training, and guiding. There is nothing like the influence that a mother has on her child.” It’s so important to remember this especially during hard times or sick times or boring times of reading the same book or playing the same game over and over. Remember that loving our kids and showing them that and teaching them to love is really important and does take repetition, think of how patient and repetitive God has to be in loving us. When I came into this role of motherhood I really wanted to come into it working at it…how I can be the best mom I can possibly be. What’s going to give Joanna the best childhood she could have imagined? Not that that means giving her what she wants all the time, but giving her what she needs.

So this is a bit of a long post for me but I process best when writing.

5 thoughts on “Motherhood

  1. I’m so glad you are enjoying the book. I’m wondering if I should go ahead a order a few more copies for some young mom’s I know struggling with staying home with babies or going back to work. What do you think? Love, Mom

  2. “Remember that loving our kids and showing them that and teaching them to love is really important and does take repetition, think of how patient and repetitive God has to be in loving us.” Amen Sarah! When I’m a mom, hope you don’t mind if I hit you up for some good reading material.

  3. Ooh, I have that book… I went right out and bought it after a friend recommended it to me a few years ago, and promptly put it on the shelf and forgot about it! Maybe I’ll read it on my trip to St. Gen. later today.
    I read “A Mother’s Heart” by Jean Fleming when Madeleine was a baby and liked it for similar reasons that you are enjoying this book. It’s a good devotional book, with reflection questions at the end of each chapter.

  4. you’re a very wise woman and mama sarah! it’s great to read your thoughts and even better to see them in action. may God give you patience and peace as you continue to work with Joanna. (I pray for those 2 things daily, whew!)

  5. I love that picture of you guys, Sarah!!
    I’d love to hear your further thoughts on that book, it sounds great. I’ve decided that motherhood sure is a lot of work, and such a serious undertaking. I often think of Granny and Grandma, and how many people they’ve impacted through their 11 kids (and grandkids and great-grandkids.)

Comments are closed.