Hersman Fudge




Christmas 06

Originally uploaded by kirksarahjoanna.

No, this is not a fudge maker, but an ice cream maker that I received from my parents for Christmas. It’s awesome, as is this fudge recipe from my sister Rinnie’s in-laws. Try it, you’ll love it. I made it earlier this week and we’ve already eaten all but one peice (which is Kirk’s) but I’m gonna eat it soon if he leaves it much longer.
Everything, especially food must be divided equally in my mind. That’s what I get for coming from a large family (7 total). When Kirk and I have BLT’s, I cook extra bacon because I had to share the bacon with so many other mouths as a kid. I remember as a kid one of our favorite meals was porcupine meatballs. My mom would have to count how many meatballs there were so that each of us would get the exact same amount. And when we lived in rural Kenya, in Muruu, we would have to butcher a chicken (and that’s a whole other exciting story) to have chicken for dinner (no frozen chicken breasts out there). For some reason us kids all wanted to eat the heart, so my poor mom would have to cut it up into 5 tiny pieces so we could each have some. Ahhh, how sweet those memories are to me.

6 thoughts on “Hersman Fudge

  1. An ice cream maker! Yum! I love all the new pictures! Hey, Heather and Brynn ADORED their hats! And both fit perfectly.

  2. Glad you liked the fudge.
    I also made peanut butter swirl from that recipe. Instead of mixing the chocolate chips and marshmallows in, I would mix the marshmallows in and then take out about 1/2 cup of the mixture and put it in another bowl. To that bowl I’d add 1/4-1/2 cup chocolate chips and mix it in. Then I’d add a bag (2 cups) of peanut butter chips to the other fudge (with just marshmallows in it.) I’d pour the peanut butter fudge into the pan, then put the chocolate fudge on top, and swirl it with the peanut butter fudge.
    It looked cool, and tasted great!!!

  3. You’re crazy….telling our secrets about the heart of the chickens! What will people think of me????? Your blog entry made me laugh. Thanks for that. I need to giggle more I think. Love, Mom

  4. Hey Sarah, where did you guys get the icecream makers.. I kind of want to get one. they seem awesome.

  5. Ha! That Food philosophy totally cracks me up, because, even though I’m only out of 5 not 7, it’s the same. My husband who is one of 2 never understands, when I holler at him, “That’s MY cookie! Don’t you dare touch it!!!”

Comments are closed.