Skillet Beef With Lentils

We had this for the first time yesterday and it was a success. I found it while reading through the More With Less looking for new recipes. I made some chapatis to go along with it which of course made it extra yummy! It also has hardly any rice in it so could be used for the South Beach Diet (maybe even in a loose phase 1).
Bring 1 qt. (4 cups) water to boil in saucepan. Add:
1 1/2 c. lentils, rinsed (I used mung dahl)
Cook 20 minutes. Drain, reserving liquid. In deep skillet, saute:
2 T. margarine or butter
2 medium onions, chopped
(I only used 1 1/2)
1 clove garlic, minced
Stir in:
1 lb. ground beef
Brown well. Dissolve in 2 1/3 c. reserved liquid (I had to add more water):
2 beef bouillon cubes
Add liquid to meat mixture; cover and simmer 10 minutes. Stir in:
reserved lentils
2 T. long-grain rice
1 t. sugar
1 t. salt
1 t. ground cumin
(I used 2 because I love it)
1/2 t. pepper
Bring to boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer 30 minutes, or until lentils and rice are tender and liquid is absorved (add more liquid if necessary). Check seasonsings and stir in:
1 T. cider vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar because I had it)
Top with parsley sprinkle. (I didn’t)

2 thoughts on “Skillet Beef With Lentils

  1. That sounds warm and yummy for this time of year… I’ve been thinking it’s about time to get out my own lentil recipe, which is similar to yours but also has more curry spices and has broccoli instead of beef. I usually add chicken, too, because Clay doesn’t think of it as a meal if it doesn’t have meat of some sort!
    I think I’ve probably brought it to h’church, so maybe you’ve had ours… I’ll have to try your variation. Clay definitely considers beef a higher meat-form than chicken, even if it’s not a big juicy steak!

Comments are closed.