Yogurt Pie/Infant Hair Gel




Silly Joanna Hair

Originally uploaded by kirksarahjoanna.

Kirk and I have been on the South Beach Diet and an awesome exercising “for lack of better word, routine.” So we’ve been having a lot of sugar-free chocolate pudding and jello for dessert these days. But, it can get old. Here’s an awesome twist to the jello that’s allowed on the diet…just don’t eat the whole pie.

I used rasberry flavoring for everything and didn’t put in any fruit because I didn’t have any. Next time I’m gonna try using chocolate pudding instead of the jello and see if that works.

1 pkg sugar-free jello, any flavor
1/4 C very hot water
1 1/2 C plain fat free yogurt
1 tub crystal ligh or other sugar-free drink mix
8 oz light cool whip
1/2 C pecans (I used a bit more)
1 T margarine (I used cooking spray)
fruit, optional

Butter (spray) a pie plate with margarine. Crush the pecans in a food processor and pour into pie plate. Pat the crushed nuts into a crust. Pour hot water-almost boiling (or rather, boiled and then turned off because I wasn’t ready for it yet) into jello in a large bowl and wisk together thoroughly. Add yogurt and whisk until well mixed. Gently stir in thawed cool whip and fruit just until blended (make sure you get all the stuff at the bottom mixed in). Pour into crust and refrigerate at least one hour.

*No, I didn’t really put any in Joanna’s hair. Just thought you might want to see a picture of her. We feel like we haven’t seen anyone in a long time because she’s been sick for 2 weeks and now has two ear infections.

8 thoughts on “Yogurt Pie/Infant Hair Gel

  1. Sounds yummy. Sorry Joanna’s got 2 ear infections! My sister had them really bad when she was about 3 years old and they put tubes in her little ears. I hope it doesn’t come to that. I would really love to hang out sometime when life has slowed a bit.
    P.S. The neat thing about SB is that there are a lot of good recipes once you past phase 1. But phase one was pretty joyless for my tastebuds.

  2. i didn’t know you did the sb. it’d be great to hang out with you too. life’s pretty crazy for us these days. hey, do you still have any interest in spending time with the etzel girls? are you still gonna have your crafts group? maybe you could help out leading our bible study…

  3. Yes to having done SB. To the having an interest in hanging with the Etzel girls question—hard to say. The girls are SO intentional about coming over that my current thoughts are less on starting things, and more on establish better boundaries. I notice that when Jacob goes to his night classes they line up to just hang, which actually means they are expecting me to teach them how to knit something or instruct them on music stuff. I dont mind that much, but before it gets out of hand, I need somehow make it clear; when Jacobs car drives off that is not automatic grounds to come over. I guess I should just remind them that I need down time, friend time just like they do. To avoid feeling bad about telling them I dont want them over so much, I thought about starting up the knitting group with designated hang out times, but when I suggested it last week, they (my two favorite girls) were upset that they couldnt have one-on-ones. Later that night I realized that I preferred the one-on-ones anyway because we learn so much more for each other when they are not competing with their peers for attention. So, Im not sure whats going to happen. Sorry Im rambling, just trying to get it out as genuinely as I can before I have to leave. Weirdly, I now started work at 7:00 so I can be 3:30.
    P.S. Did you know that we have a time clock now with no paid lunches and NO MUSIC? Yuck! 😦

  4. Sorry about Joanna.
    I’ll have to try that pie. I wonder if the pudding will set if you put it in hot water, or if you should use cold instead (since you make jello with hot water and pudding with cold milk.) Anyway, whichever of us makes it first can tell the other one. 🙂

  5. joanna is taking more and more after he aunt every day. i’m loving the hair. it looks familiar

  6. I tried the pie with chocolate pudding. I used 1/4 cup milk (instead of water.) It turned out OK. If it was that or chocolate cake, of course I’d eat the cake. But we ate it “all gone” – as the girls would say.

  7. i tried it too last night with about 1 cup of milk. it was ok but i think i’d use less rasberry drink stuff. you couldn’t really taste the chocolate. it also didn’t really set.

Comments are closed.