Reading




Reading

Originally uploaded by kirksarahjoanna.

I’ve been tagged by Neil to do this blog entry. I’ll do my best but I’m the type of person that loves a book while reading it but after a few weeks couldn’t think to tell you what the book was about.
1. One book that changed your life:
* Hate to seem super spiritual, but I’m gonna go ahead and say the B-I-B-L-E (yes, that’s the book for me). I’ve enjoyed and learned from other books but can’t say the “changed” my life.
2. One book that you’ve read more than once:
* Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis. I read it a long time ago and then forgot I’d read it and read it again. I love it! I’d read it again now but I have so many unread books to read first.
3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
* Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein. Not only because it’s good, but I can pass a lot of time reading it…especially if I read all the appendices.
4. One book that made you laugh:
* BFG by Roald Dahl. This was first read out loud to my in my “Kiddie Lit” class in college (I was an education major). My teacher did an awesome job of reading it. I then read it to my SAT Prep. Class.
5. One book that made you cry:
* Hard to say though I’m sure I cried some in reading books about relationships with Kirk. Maybe not so much because of the books themselves but the conversations they led to.
6. One book that you wish had been written:
* Five Easy and Quick Steps To Making Decisions
7. One book that you wish had never been written:
* Fabric of Faithfulness by I have no clue who. We had to read this for a “Christ and Culture” class freshman year at Covenant. I don’t really remember the book except that I don’t think I enjoyed it.
8. One book you’re currently reading:
* Dragon Prince by Melanie Rawn. I’ve had it for a few years and not read it yet. My brother-in-law loves fiction and bought it for me when I was in college.
9. One book you’ve been meaning to read:
* The Scramble for Africa by Thomas Pakenham. I love history and it was one of my concentrations in my education program.
10. Now tag five people:
Joanna (her entry is below this), Katie, Rinnie, Heidi, Anna.
1. One book that changed your life:
* Baby Sign Language Basics by Monta Z. Briant. This will probably change my life as soon as I am able to figure out what my parents are doing waving their hands all over the place when they talk to me.
2. One book that you’ve read more than once:
* I’ve read all of my books more than once but I think That’s Not My Lion… is my favorite because of the different textures.
3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
* Any would do because they’ve provide some good sustenance.
4. One book that made you laugh:
* I don’t really get the humor in books yet but the puppets on my Baby Einstein’s Baby Monet video sure crack me up.
5. One book that made you cry:
* The Very Hungry Caterpillar. I hit my face with it as I was pulling it off the book shelf.
6. One book that you wish had been written:
* How to Walk before You Crawl.
7. One book that you wish had never been written:
* So far I’ve enjoyed pretty much all of my books.
8. One book you’re currently reading:
* Reading? Don’t you mean “eating?” I pretty much eat any book I can get my hands on.
9. One book you’ve been meaning to read:
* My World of Animals. I’ve been meaning to eat this book but my mom took it away because it was dissolving in my mouth.

8 thoughts on “Reading

  1. Sarah, you make me laugh! Reading this, I felt very much like a middle schooler reading a passed note in class while the teacher’s facing the chalkboard…I think it’s cause I’m taking my break while others are working, so I have to muffle my giggling. I really lost it when I read “Joanna’s comments” about eating books! Seriously, I am going to have to NOT check your blog during my breaks, unless others are taking theirs at the same time.
    Jacob and I were talking Sunday night…and we decided we need to challenge you and Kirk to Settler of Catan. I say we play in costume…but my guess is that I would be the only one wearing a costume…so maybe no costumes. In any case, He and I are hoping to get acquainted with the game at the Wachsmuths’ Sunday…I think he and I should play a few times before we take the two of you on!

  2. I loved Joanna’s “entry” – it made me laugh!!! 🙂 I really enjoyed those Melanie Rawn books – I recently finished Kate Elliot’s “Crown of Stars” series and really enjoyed them.

  3. Sarah, I really like “Till We Have Faces” too, though I am not sure I get it. I also enjoyed Joanna’s picks.

  4. Fun entry! It reminds me of something I would see in the weekend newspaper. Maybe you should submit it to your local rag and start a writing career!

  5. Joanna, you are so funny!!!!!! Who was it in the Bible that God told him to eat the scroll and it was sweet to his lips but sour in his tummy. Remember that!!! Love you, Granny

Comments are closed.