Roopa Vieja: Cuban-“Old Clothes”

Here’s an awesome crockpot recipe that we had last weekend when the Wards were in town for Joanna’s baptism.
Ingredients:
1 1/2 C. chicken broth
1/4 C sherry vinegar (I used white wine vinegar b/c I had it around)
2 stalks celery, sliced
1 large onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 T cumin
1 t salt
1/2 t pepper
3 lb flank steak, cut in thirds
1/2 C packed cilantro, chopped
1/2 C chopped pickled jalapenos
10 corn tortillas
Directions:
1. Combine broth, vinegar, celery, onion, bell pepper, garlic, cumin, salt & pepper in 6 qt. slow cooker. Add beef, submerging it by tucking the vegetables under, over and between the pieces.
2. Put the lid on and cook on low until the meat is fork-tender, about 8 hours.
3. Transfer the meat to a cutting board; let stand for 10 min. Shred the meat with 2 forks and return it to the slow cooker. Stir in cilantro. Garnish with jalapeno and sour cream and tortillas on the side.

2 thoughts on “Roopa Vieja: Cuban-“Old Clothes”

  1. Oh wow, I had that at a Cuban restaurant when I was down visiting my dad in Tampa in January. ¡Muy delicioso! I have this new crock pot… I’m definitely going to have to make this now! Thanks!

Comments are closed.