Fish with Mangos (Kenya)

My mom used to make out her weekly meal plans each Sunday during the announcements at church. I make mine out Saturday morning before I go out to do my shopping. I have so many cookbooks since my mom and older sister have been giving one to me for every birthday and Christmas it seems since I went to college. I love it! I like to try a new recipe each week, if possible. So I’ve decided that I will begin to share these new recipes with the world (the world that reads this blog at least). Yesterday we tried out the following recipe from Extending the Table… (a highly recommended international cook book “in the spirit of More-with-Less“). This recipe, however, we do not highly recommend. In fact, I wouldn’t recommend it at all unless you like fish. We also didn’t have any chili peppers which probably took a lot of the taste out of it. Let us know what you think.

Combine in frypan:
– 2 lb. white fish steaks, cut in large pieces (1 kg)
– approx. 3/4 c. water (175 ml)
– 1 onion, thinly sliced or chopped
– 2 tomatoes, peeled and chopped
– 2 mangoes, peeled and chopped
– 1-2 chili peppers, seeded and chopped
– 1/2-1 t. salt (2-5 ml)
Cover and simmer gently 20 minutes, or until cooked through.
Serve with rice.
Option: Substitue peaches for mangoes.

4 thoughts on “Fish with Mangos (Kenya)

  1. it is a good cookbook, i’m sure their are things in it that rock, but when we first got it joel decided to go to the farmer;s market and buy everything from fenugreek to fish sauce so we could make the stuff. I stick to the carrot soup. The Bang bang chicken was OK but it was too peanutty for me. And that’s a HI-larious picture!!

  2. Interesting concoction…. I’ll hold judgement until I get to taste it though. 🙂

  3. Thanks, Sarah, for telling the world, or at least that part of it that reads your blog, that I wrote out our menus during church. What must they think of me!?!?!?!?! Love you anyway, Mom

Comments are closed.